Distinguished Alumni & Citizen

Harper Creek Community Schools has been graduating students since 1960.  We invite the community to nominate outstanding Harper Creek alumni and citizens for the first Distinguished Alumni Award. Award winners will be honored at the graduation ceremony.


All nomination submissions will be reviewed by the seven-person Distinguished Alumni and Citizen Committee, comprised of the Harper Creek Board of Education, faculty, and the community. This committee will make its final selections no later than the end of March each year with the awardees notified at that time. 

Questions regarding these two awards may be directed to Karla Kopp, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent, at 269-441-6555. 

Past Winners

Distinguished Alumni

2016 Dr. Christine (Jordan) Draper Class of 1992
2016 Kristin D (Marlatt) King Class of 1981
2017 Diane Smith Class of 1985
2018 Amy Rosa Class of 1960
2019 Tracie Lynn Tomak Class of 1985
2021 Sherii (DeRuiter) Sherban Class of 1981
2022 Angie Farleigh Colamaria Class of 1993
2023 Derek King Class of 1993


Distinguished Citizen

2016 Allyn Miller
2017 Vern DeYoung, posthumous
2018 James R. C. Hazel Jr., posthumous
2021 Fred Lutzke
2022 C. Glen Walter
2023 Gary Lincoln