The Interstate Eight Athletic Conference held its tenth annual award ceremony on Wednesday, April 15. Student-athletes from each school in the conference were honored for their successes in the classroom and their respective sports. Recipients earned two or more varsity letters in their senior year and had the highest grade point averages in their senior class. 

The ten students from Harper Creek High School are Katie Behnke, Jaydan Courtright, Joseph DeRose, Olivia Ellenwood, Mallory Flanders, Celia Kyger, Rachel Kyger, Emma Monroe, Brady Southfield, and Ethan Tabiadon.  

Congratulations to each of the HCHS student-athletes earning the I-8 Scholar Award! 

Harper's Unsung Hero - Ewald Heersema

Ewald was born and raised on the other side of the pond. His life experiences eventually led him to our bus garage. As a young adult he fell  in love with a Michigan girl and followed her across the Atlantic Ocean. His story that has led him to driving our students to school and back home each day in his retirement, is one I’m sure you’ll find interesting.

Harper Creek Middle School Teacher Grant Recipient

HCMS STEM teacher received the Guido A. and Elizabeth Binda Foundation, coordinated by the Calhoun Intermediate School District.

Harper's Unsung Hero - Justin King

Justin was born and raised in Small Town Michigan. He and his siblings enjoyed spending much of their free time exploring outdoors. Athletics was a big part of his high school experience and the support his teams received from the community added to the excitement. He knew early on that he wanted to spend his life helping others. His career in public safety eventually led him to Harper Creek.